To miss-quote Shakespeare…”To Overwrite or to Append Timestamp, that is the Question!”
You may often receive this message when creating a new local File and wondered what it really means.
Here is an explanation…
Overwrite existing file: All the backup files for that local file get deleted. Helps keep your computer hard drive space free.
Append Timestamp: Another Backup of the local file is created allowing you to develop an archive copy of the project locally.
My recommendation is to always create a new local file when you first open the project first thing in the morning. This helps keep problems with work sharing to a minimum. During the day as you work on the project it may be ok to append timestamp.
Basically your “Local File” is a temporary file while you’re working on the project, you make changes then push “Sync” back to the central file.
Remember… Sync often and create a new local file every day.
Sc
